1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://contemporarylit.about.com/updated.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
Mark Flanagan

Updated Articles and Resources

By Mark Flanagan

    Updated Articles and Resources
    • 10% Happier by Dan Harris Created: Tuesday, July 22, 2014 Updated: Thursday, July 24, 2014
      In 10% Happier, ABC news correspondant and Nightline and Good Morning America co-anchor Dan Harris reveals how meditation saved his life.
    • My Struggle Book One by Karl Ove Knausgaard Created: Friday, July 18, 2014 Updated: Friday, July 18, 2014
      Karl Ove Knausgaard's exquisite six-volume autobiographical novel My Struggle will be remembered as a landmark literary event. Volume One circles around the death of Knausgaard's father and brims with honesty and vivacity, of emotional vulnerability and unprotected psyche.
    • My Struggle Book Two by Karl Ove Knausgaard Created: Friday, July 18, 2014 Updated: Friday, July 18, 2014
      Book Two of Karl Ove Knausgaard's six-volume memoir follows the author as he begins his family, potentially compromising his identity as a writer and a man.
    • Lost For Words by Edward St. Aubyn Created: Friday, July 18, 2014 Updated: Friday, July 18, 2014
      Edward St. Aubyn's Lost For Words is an acerbic, baggy novel meant to take down all of the nonsense that surrounds literary prizes.
    • Shawn C. Stufflebeam Created: Monday, March 15, 2004 Updated: Friday, July 18, 2014
      Shawn C. Stufflebeam is a mortgage broker in Atlanta, GA, and has been an avid reader of whatever he pleases ever since he finished the required reading lists at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
    • Monkeys with Typewriters by Scarlett Thomas Created: Monday, June 30, 2014 Updated: Thursday, July 10, 2014
      Scarlett Thomas has written what is easily the most practical and accessible guide to writing a novel I have come across so far.
    • To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris Created: Monday, July 07, 2014 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      Paul O'Rourke is a loner unable to properly connect with anyone, mostly as a result of his atheism. But a bizarre series of events opens Paul's eyes to others who think like he does.
    • Joshua Ferris - Biography Created: Thursday, December 03, 2009 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      Joshua Ferris' work in an advertising agency was the inspiration for his hilariously satirical debut novel, Then We Came to the End. In January 2010, he follows with The Unnamed, a powerful story of one man's struggle with an anomalous disease that threatens to tear his life apart.
    • The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris Created: Thursday, December 03, 2009 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      The Unnamed is at once a story of love and family and a thoughtful reflection upon the duality of human nature and the fleeting nature of life’s precious moments.
    • Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris Created: Tuesday, October 23, 2007 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      What The Office brought to television, what Office Space brought to the movies, and what Dilbert brought to comics, Then We Came to the End brings to literature.
    • Black Vodka by Deborah Levy Created: Monday, July 07, 2014 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      Deborah Levy's slim collection of tightly-packed stories grip the reader with their beauty and the power of the author's language.
    • James Joyce by Gordon Bowker Created: Monday, July 07, 2014 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      Gordon Bowker delivers a comprehensive and readable biography of James Joyce.
    • The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin Created: Monday, July 07, 2014 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      A widower indie bookseller is at the heart of Gabrielle Zevin's uplifting paean to the power of reading.
    • On Beauty by Zadie Smith Created: Wednesday, December 07, 2005 Updated: Monday, July 07, 2014
      Zadie Smith made a literary splash as a twenty-five-year-old with her debut novel White Teeth. Five years and two novels later, Smith has all but solidified herself a spot among the modern literary canon as one of a handful of truly important young novelists at work today. Smith's latest is On Beauty, a modern twist on E. M. Forster's Howard's End, updated to the still-stiff-collared world of twenty-first-century ivy-league academia.
    • Books for Dad Created: Friday, June 15, 2007 Updated: Monday, June 23, 2014
      Looking for a good gift for dad? You know what he wants - a sea kayak, a gas grill, or one of those Segway personal transport devices. But you're too cheap to get him any of those gifts. How about ...
    • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace Created: Sunday, July 05, 2009 Updated: Friday, June 20, 2014
      Infinite Jest, David Foster Wallace's 1996 novel of addiction and recovery, popular entertainment, and tennis has been hailed as a work of genius, one of the greatest novels of the 20th century. It is a long and complex work bearing the labyrinthine threads of plot and stylistic intricacies for which Wallace was famous, and certainly one of the most engrossing novel I have ever read.
    • The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham Created: Friday, June 20, 2014 Updated: Friday, June 20, 2014
      Michael Cunningham delivers a new novel so bland that The Snow Queen not only fails individually but tarnishes the author's past successes.
    • Divine Justice Created: Sunday, December 07, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
      'Divine Justice' is the fourth in David Baldacci's Camel Club series of novels that have enjoyed immense popularity. Each novel has asked what secrets the federal government is keeping from citizen...
    • The Postmistress Created: Saturday, February 27, 2010 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
      Sarah Blake's debut novel is composed of intertwined stories of three woman during World War II - a Cape Cod postmistress, a radio gal in London, and a young bride who awaits her husband's return f...
    • Brick Lane Created: Saturday, November 13, 2004 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
      Monica Ali is like a magician revealing all her secrets. In a time when every Western country is facing off with its Muslim populations, Brick Lane provides its readers a look at a community that, ...
    • Outliers Created: Monday, December 08, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 17, 2014
      In 'The Tipping Point,' Malcolm Gladwell dissected the phenomena of social epidemics; and in 'Blink,' he discussed the nature of split-second decision-making. In 'Outliers,' Gladwell, the founding ...
    • The Alchemist Created: Sunday, June 28, 2009 Updated: Monday, June 16, 2014
      Paulo Coelho's 'The Alchemist' is a short and inspirational parable about the importance of pursuing one's dreams. Originally published in 1988 in the Brazillian author's native Portugese, it has s...
    • The Choice Created: Sunday, October 14, 2007 Updated: Monday, June 16, 2014
      A review of Nicholas Spark's novel of a life-long bachelor who fears falling in love with a woman who moves in next door.
    • The Leftovers Created: Sunday, August 07, 2011 Updated: Monday, June 16, 2014
      In Tom Perrotta's The Leftovers, it is distinctly Rapture-like when millions of people suddenly disappear from the Earth all at once, and those left behind must account for and deal with their disa...
    • Margaret Atwood Created: Thursday, October 02, 2003 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      Known for sharp social commentary delivered via science fiction or speculative fiction, Margaret Atwood's books have been published in over thirty-five countries. She is the author of more than thi...
    • T.C. Boyle Created: Friday, October 03, 2003 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      T.C. Boyle is known for his humor and his biting satire. Over the course of his career as a novelist, he has shown a propensity for writing about famous and fascinating American eccentrics such as...
    • Malcolm Gladwell Created: Friday, January 21, 2005 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      Malcolm Gladwell's phenomenal bestseller 'The Tipping Point' (2000) captured the world's attention with its theory that a curiously small change can have unforeseen effect; 'Blink' (2005) is about...
    • Salman Rushdie Created: Sunday, February 29, 2004 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      Born in Bombay in 1947, Salman Rushdie is the author of numerous novels, including 'Midnight's Children,' 'The Satanic Verses,' 'The Moor's Last Sigh,' and 'The Enchantress of Florence.' His numero...
    • The Shadow of the Wind Created: Wednesday, February 25, 2004 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      Carlos Ruiz Zafon's The Shadow of the Wind seems born of a different time. An ode to its own genre, a love song to itself, the story of a boy who is shown the power of a book, one so powerful that ...
    • At First Sight Created: Wednesday, November 09, 2005 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
      At First Sight needs two grades. The first, 2.5 stars, is for its literary merit. The second, 4.0 for it's appeal to Sparks' legion of fans.
    • Man Booker Prize Winners Created: Friday, June 15, 2007 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
      The Man Booker Prize is awarded to the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. It is not only one of literature's highest honors but quit...
    • Fall of Giants Created: Sunday, September 26, 2010 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
      Ken Follett has created another blockbuster in the vein of Pillars of the Earth and World Without End, both of which anchored the bestsellers lists in their time. Fall of Giants is the first book i...

    ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.